Favorite things

Hello everyone. I am up again tonight, and this time I am thinking of how the process of growing up changes many things, especially favorite things. When I was little, I loved to play like most kids do. Around teenage years, I enjoyed partying (not my most spiritual time). In college my favorite things to do were eat and sleep. As I sat here tonight, I realized that it is difficult to think of what my favorite things to do are now. I still enjoy playing with my kids sometimes, but the thoughts of cleaning the toys back up and what I “should” be doing, decrease the enjoyment dramatically. I don’t party anymore (unless you count my attempts at Discovery Toys parties, or the few other “demonstration” parties I manage to escape from life long enough to attend). As far as eating goes, it is more of a necessity than an enjoyment now. Eating most often involves cooking and cleaning which takes away from the whole dining experience, or it is a menu of chicken nuggets, macaroni, and green beans (nothing against those, but still not quite perfectly seasoned steak and beautifully prepared cheesecake).

This might sound a little discouraging, but wait, it gets worse. Just kidding!

Although the things I enjoy now might not be as simple or as easy to contemplate as those mentioned; I realize that I have more favorites now than I have ever had. I love hearing and seeing my kids imaginations at work. I love my husband’s gift of making me laugh and his willingness to listen as I talk him to sleep. I still love the majesty of a clear sky on a starry night, and the sound and smell of rain. As my relationship with God grows, I love His peace and the moments of insight and depth I experience through prayer and reading His Word. I love knowing that I have friends that know me and love me anyway (thank you all). I still love talking to my sisters and parents on the phone every few weeks or in person a few times a year. Most of all, I love the many blessings in my life that are new every day.

As you read this, I hope you all take the time to think about some of your favorite things. If you want, you can even sing about them like Maria in “The Sound of Music” – “Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens, brown paper packages tied up with string, these are a few of my favorite things. Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes, snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes, silver white winters that melt into spring, these are a few of my favorite things. When the dog bites, when the bee stings, when I’m feeling sad; I simply remember my favorite things, and then I don’t feel so bad…” *

*Reprinted without the permission of the “Sound of Music” executives. So please don’t tell. 🙂

Goodnight everyone.

4 thoughts on “Favorite things

Comments are closed.