Why I hate to cook – part 2.

I commented on another blogger’s post: http://triing2findacure.wordpress.com/2011/07/20/lifestyle-changes-what-are-your-wicked-ways/  about how much I hate cooking, and she asked me which parts I hated. I started just replying to her, but it was getting too long, so I came back here.

This post is going to be in the boring stuff category, so if you want funny stuff the answer is: http://wp.me/p1Cvgh-3f    I love writing and this blogging thing is great for recluses like me. I would rather write funny stuff, but I’m going to let you in on the other side a little… (as the violin plays softly in the background).

The more serious answer is both. I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis about 10 years ago when I was 20. Through the years I got a couple of additional diagnoses, raynauds syndrome, thyroid disorder, some weird eyelid thing, and I fell in May and broke my hip. It sounds like I am a hypocondriac, but I really am not. I waited about an hour after breaking my hip before I called my husband to let him know that I had fallen. (Not like that proves anything). I went to physical therapy yesterday because I finally got cleared to put weight on my leg, but the therapist won’t work with me because the spasticity in my leg is too bad. She is referring me to a new doctor for botox in my leg…wierd huh. I could write a whole post about that…

So, now I am 30, have 4 kids, must use either a wheelchair or walker and maybe once a week get to leave the house to go to Walmart (they have those motorized shopping carts or a doctors appointment. I have to make lists for groceries since I can’t go out much, but I hate the planning, prep, cooking and clean up. My kids and husband can and do help, but it is mainly my responsibility. I don’t even get hungry much (medication side effects) so I have to just pay attention to the time to remember to make lunch/dinner. Anyway, I don’t know how I got connected with you bloggers who love exercise, eat right, etc. because I am the complete opposite, but I guess maybe God is trying to tell me something. So, thanks for your tips and comments. If you are like me and don’t enjoy healthy things, I appreciate your comments too. Maybe even more…;)

25 thoughts on “Why I hate to cook – part 2.

  1. So much we can talk about… But Shelah is better at answering this. I will ask her to contact you. You can join a food coop (locally grown fruits and veggies) and have them delivered. There are so many recipes that would take a little prep work (some you can do one day a week – on a good day) to last the whole week. Again, I will let Shelah comment on the other side effects of healthy eating… Or visit her site: http://www.ourwickedways.com and she will certainly help you out.

    I am just getting started with all this, so you are in on my ground level… As you say, abe God is trying to tell you something. I am a firm believer that people come into and out of our lives for a reason. Accept them and learn!!! =)

    • I will check her website out. I don’t know if I need groceries delivered yet..my husband often picks stuff up on his way home, but as the MS progresses I probably will. I usually take advice and follow it for a while, but the commitment is the hard part for me. It is also difficult prioritizing, but I get a little better every day. Thanks again for all the advice and I hope that your injury heals well and that you get some quality “me” time.

      • The coop is not just about the delivery of the food… the fruits and veggies, because they are locally grown and picked fresh, do not have preservatives. Even organic foods will carry some degree of preservatives on them,just no pesticides. Knocking out the preservatives could hep with the symptoms of MS. I have several friends (I hate to say) with MS, so I do understand the debilitating affects on your life. I will add a few extra prayers just for you…

  2. I know that we have a farmers market sometime during the summer, but i will try to find the dates. I also have tried growing strawberries, tomatoes, corn and some herbs, but our soil is not the best (the strawberies did well) and since I broke my hip I’m inside too much to keep up with it. I think I am going to really look into some indoor gardening or maybe some window boxes. Thanks for the sympathy, prayers, and advice.

  3. So I went back quite a bit and found out some of what you are dealing with…you were and are dealing with a much more severe case of MS than what I am..I was 46 when I was diagnosed and so much of the ‘busy’ years I didn’t have it….You on the other hand are in those years and it must be very difficult for you …but you certainly have retained your sense of humour according to the posts I’ve read….I’m now 66 and the MS has pretty well stablized and not progressed so it seems unless things change…..Diane

    • Yeah, I broke my hip about a year ago, so that complicated things further. I am about to take my daughter to school on the wheelchair, so I’ll be gone for a bit, but I am also about to do an MS Walk. If you are interested in learning more, and maybe joining my “virtual walk” team, search for a post called “Just Do It”. Thanks! Be back soon.

Comments are closed.