Disturbing Trend

Today, while faithfully checking my stats, I noticed a disturbing trend. More people like me that don’t know me than those who do. As I began to over-analyze this strange phenomenon (I am a woman after all), I realized that this could not be because I am less brilliant in person than I am in writing. I also am just as charming, funny, etc. so since it couldn’t be something wrong with me; it must be something wrong with them. With that in mind, here is a list of possible explanations:

  • They can’t read – although this seems improbable, sometimes people hide things that they are ashamed of. For all I know, all my Facebook “friends” are actually 4th graders being paid to write about the daily life of their bosses. (That would also explain some of the spelling errors).
  • They don’t want the publicity of being associated with me – being a celebrity does have a downside; the constant autograph signings, the paparazzi, the photographers, it is no wonder those who know me hide that fact.
  • They are too busy – As we all know, keeping up with all the social media in our lives can be quite demanding. When weighing the options of how to manage their time, it is not surprising that many choose to let the world know where and how they are, as well as other important details like when they last used the restroom, what they had for lunch, etc. and after all that updating, they are probably too exhausted to read a blog.
  • I’m not dying  – Have you ever noticed how popular dying people are? I often think to myself “you would read it if I was dead”. I guess dying people are just more interesting…suddenly people are curious about your thoughts, feelings, and words. It’s a morbid world out there.
  • On the off-chance that my friends either: are reading my blog, don’t realize I had a blog, really do have more important things to do, etc. ………I didn’t mean anything I just said…really, I understand why you can’t devote your time…I was just joking about the 4th grade spelling errors…of course I still love you…

(For all my blog buddies, forget that last point. I have to try to keep some real friends just in case) 😉

10 thoughts on “Disturbing Trend

  1. Haha, overanalyzing your stats huh? Welcome to the club:P But how about looking at the content of your blog where your stats are high, and see if there is some kind of connection between them, quality of writing, topic, image use etc. (Wow, I actually still remember stuff from my statistic classO_o) If I look at my own stats, the fan art and illustrations seems to draw some attention to my own writerblog:)

    • Thanks for the tips. I do think some days have better content than others, and catchy titles are also a big part of increased viewing, so I’ll try to pay attention to those. I took a statistics class in college also, but I forget it most of the time 🙂

    • We really are. I don’t really like Facebook. It comes in handy sometimes, but most of the time it is just stupid. People trying to get you to play games, or give them you birthday…there is one person I know who writes a blog post about once a week, but she tells people about it like 20 times. I don’t even read it because it is annoying that she keeps saying “I wrote a blog post”, “read the latest post”, etc. Facebook has a lot of narcissists.

Comments are closed.