School or Home?

As someone who has never had any desire to home school our children, I am both annoyed and amused at the prospect of homeschooling my Kindergartener. The problem is that she is only a half-day kid this year, so she could ride the bus home from but not to school. Since I can’t drive, this is quite a problem.

I have a few wonderful friends who have offered their shuttling services, but I am just wondering if it is worth all the trouble? Afterall, she is only in school for about 2.5 hours. So, to help me out, here are some pro’s and con’s that I anticipate of homeschooling:

Pro’s

  • Wouldn’t have to depend on others for her schooling.
  • If she vomits, it will probably be on me and clothes, meds, washing machine, etc. are already here.
  • If something comes up, the schedule would be more flexible.
  • I would get to go on all her field trips.
  • Educational television shows could supplement her learning.

Con’s

  • I would be responsible for ensuring she could move on to 1st grade.
  • If she vomits, it will probably be on me.
  • It would be difficult to start and maintain a schedule.
  • We would be at home together all day everyday (short-term pro, but could become con quite easily.
  • Time alone to go to dr. appointments, shopping, the bathroom, etc. would be difficult to come by.

I know that this post isn’t as funny as what you expect from a brilliant writer such as myself, but even geniuses can stress out. For super funny stuff, see the 2 previous posts. If you have any ideas, insights, or advice on this homeschooling issue, please share them with me. Thanks.

10 thoughts on “School or Home?

  1. Have you considered a homeschooling coop? I’ve helped with one, though my son attends school. The variety of experts and energy homeschoolers can combine makes it a much more viable option. If you check this out, look for groups that share your same category of reasons for homeschooling, ie. values, religion, etc. Best of luck with it.

    • That is a good idea. I do know of a few moms who homeschool, and I think they are part of a coop. I will have to give them a call. Thanks for the suggestion.

  2. Hi, I don’t know what the schools are like at your place. But in NL they think it very important for the development of the children that the go to kindergarden. Especially for the interaction with other kids. They learn so much from each other.

    I understand your concern, but just look from your childs view. Would it be good for her?? Would she like it.

    (it’s all easy for me to say, I don’t have kids)

    Sophie

    • My daughter really wants to go to school so she can play with friends, etc. I think that we are going to at least try to get her there, and if it isn’t working out I could always pull her out later. I think that kids do learn a lot from eachother, and it would be good for me to get a little break too. Thanks for the input.

  3. Oh Jeez, I could type a whole post on this subject. And no, PMAO, it’s also for Bohemian, agnostic-humanist moms who think ‘the system’ sucks and doesn’t want their child to be part of the cookie-cutter clan. Home schooling sucks too though, he’s going back.

Comments are closed.