Are Stupid People Smart Enough to Know They’re Stupid?

Emoticon making decision

As anyone who has read my blog has probably figured out, I think I’m pretty funny…hilarious really (I tell my husband this all the time). I also think I have what I call “witty” aka “smart” humor *see witty humor category. These opinions of myself got me thinking about whether or not what I believe is actually true.

If I was not funny or smart, would I know it? It seems to me that if I thought I was smart but I was really stupid, I would still think I was smart because I wouldn’t be smart enough to know what “smart” was.

So, now we have a problem. I could ask all of my readers if they thought I was smart, but that would probably seem pretty needy, plus what if they/you had the same problem I had? In fact, what if everyone has the same problem? We all think we are smart but really we are pretty dumb. If this is the case, the smartest people in the world would be the ones who think they are dumbest.

Based on this assumption, I would like to tell all the people out there who think they are dumb that they are actually smart. Smarter than lots of people. I would love to be dumb…I mean smart…I mean…well, you know what I mean right?

24 thoughts on “Are Stupid People Smart Enough to Know They’re Stupid?

  1. well i think you’re funny, but you have to consider the source…i’m pretty sure you’re even smart but i’m no expert :o? at the very least you are amusing me and i hope you keep it up, cuz i like to be amused

    • I like to be amused too…which is why I started blogging. I am much funnier in writing…wait a second…showing my ignorance again. I am probably wrong about being funny. πŸ˜‰

  2. Lol…. then again I’ve learnt that I’m only ever funny when I’m not trying to be (usually when I’m actually in a really bad mood and yelling or making snide comments about something) so you can’t really trust my opinion πŸ˜›

  3. All we can go on are certain clues… An inquisitive nature is one clue, not a guarantee of brains but a trait of it. A wide range of interests is another (shows how the world is interconnected) But as you said we all think we are geniuses, how can we be sure?

    • You are right about that. One day they will probably make those “dog language” interpreters, like in the movie “Up” and if the dogs (love regardless of stupidity) let a cat (don’t care what we think) borrow theirs, we could know the real truth. πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.