When Did Weird Start Being Normal?

I have a 13-year-old daughter. I also have a 7-year-old, a 17-year-old and a 5-year-old.

3 out of my 4 kids have dyed their hair in very interesting shades/patterns. Before “The Last Airbender” came out, my son had a blue arrow down his head. He also has had kind of blue polka dots. My daughters bangs are purple at the moment, and the rest of her hair is reddish, about to be black.

We have always told the kids that for the most part, their hair is theirs, so as long as they have their own money, they can get it cut/dyed/anything but shaved.

I say all this because it seems that more and more people are dying their hair, wearing weird stuff (lady gaga), customizing their cars/license plates, piercing everything, etc.

Remember when the only people who had blue hair, were the old ladies in the old-blue-hair-lady jokes? When did all this stuff become normal? (ok, so lady gaga is still not quite normal). Now, don’t get me wrong, I like individualism, and I don’t have a problem with most of the things people do to themselves. I just think it is a little strange how strange people are. I guess pretty soon the “weird” ones will be those in jeans and t-shirts. It is a crazy and fun world.

5 thoughts on “When Did Weird Start Being Normal?

  1. My son has tatoos, which I do not understand. If I owned The Mona Lisa I couldn’t commit to fixing it permanently to any one wall but having cartoons on your body forever? Sheesh!

    • I completely understand, although I was once a teenager and I got a small rose tatoo. Now that I’m older, I feel like it was a stupid thing to do, but you are right, once you do something permanent it doesn’t matter how you feel about it in 10 years. What’s done is done. Thankfully none of my kids have tattoos yet, but I am not going to be surprised if they get one when they move out.

  2. I thought about having my small hip tattoo removed…and then I had kids. Now? Whats the point? My hips really cant look any worse without it 🙂

    • So true…I think sex ed classes in high school should have a month or two dedicated to all the changes that occur in a woman’s body after having kids…stretch marks, wierd boob stuff, widened hips, etc. That would be as scary to many kids as getting an STD. Your body will never be that same after having children. That is for sure.

Comments are closed.