Outdoor Adventure/High School Nightmare

Some of you may have read my post about teenage drivers and the traumatic experiences I have had with them. I went out again today and took my youngest to school on my wheelchair.

Afterward I went to the library because although I should probably be writing a book, I prefer to read them and am way too flighty to write anything longer than a page or two. Of course I stayed too long, but left thinking if I maxed out the 5 mile per hour top speed I would still beat the after school rush of kids who think they are only talking on a cellphone, but are actually driving a vehicle as well.

Anyway, I was right. I beat the kids leaving school, but I was right on time to roll through a crowd of about 25 track runners. If I was a teenager I would have probably just waited it out, but I am too old to care if a million (or 25) pairs of eyes acted like a marching band and moved in unison down the “look, it’s a real disabled person” street.

Did I ever mention how glad I am that I am not a teen anymore? It is not as if I am not cool, I tried out for and made the track student manager team, as well as the volleyball student manager team. So, I have had my turn at being the MVP of school sports. I would just not trade adulthood for any of that jr. high/high school drama. I think I am going to start going out at night when all the drunk drivers are out…I would probably be much more comfortable and a lot safer too.

10 thoughts on “Outdoor Adventure/High School Nightmare

  1. I don’t drive, I use my bike to get around, and I have been in the middle of afterschool-mayhem, trying hard not to get killed by students, student-drivers, and their iPhones/ectopic-brains. Their energy is wonderful, but you are so right about their drama. And their narrow focus. And the comparative safety of drunk drivers.
    Thanks for the chuckles!

  2. “I think I am going to start going out at night when all the drunk drivers are out…I would probably be much more comfortable and a lot safer too.” *grin*

    Yep, I would buy that book too; I look forward to these posts every week. In a word-inspiring.

  3. Have you ever thought about submitting your wheelchair for consideration to one of those “Pimp My Ride” shows? Maybe they could supe it up and make it look like an exotic sports car! Then the next time you could beat the track team!

    • That would be awesome! I do have pink and black flames on my chair, but I really wish it could go faster. The top speed is 5 miles an hour, which feels a little fast, but not in comparison to runners.

Comments are closed.