Self Motivation: Or Lack Thereof – Top Ten

Have you ever noticed how difficult it is to do anything? Well, anything you should do. Okay, so maybe some of you are self-starters, the “I’ll get this done or die trying” type. I wish I was like that. Unfortunately, I am usually the most motivated to write in this blog…in part because the only time I can fully process thoughts seems to be when I write, but also because writing here makes me feel like an unproductive worker…which is better than no worker at all right?

Since most of the people who read this are writers, I am sure many of you can relate to the half-hearted desire to write a book. I say half-hearted because although I have a desire to write a book, when it comes to doing it, I am slightly less enthusiastic. I thought maybe I should write a post to see if at least 100 people would read my book if I were to write/publish one, but I honestly don’t know if I could/would do it…even if millions of people would read it.

So, in honor of all of us who struggle with motivating ourselves, I have come up with a top ten list of excuses for not doing what you in theory want to do:

#10. You are creative – The essence of creativity is its lack of regulations. I like to say that creativity is rebellion in disguise. In order to be a true creative genius, you must rebel against that productive nature. Wait a second, that sounds like a rule. There are no “must’s” in creativity. Nevermind.

#9. You don’t actually want to do what you think you want to – Writing a book is a perfect example of this. Having a book sounds like fun, but who actually wants to tour the country promoting yourself, take a picture that might be seen by thousands on the back cover, and sign autographs all day. Can you imagine the writer’s cramp?

#8. There are too many options – An indecisive person like myself can become completely exhausted trying to prioritize tasks. It usually is better to just play solitaire or something.

#7. Deep emotional wounds – Many times we have reasons buried deeply in our self-conscious that prohibit us from being effective. Your pet toad might have died. You might have suffered the loss of a fingernail. The plight of the productive “heroes” in movies might have scarred you for life, etc.

#6. There is too much food available – For some reason, when I actually start doing something, I typically get hungry and therefore must take a break, never to return.

#5. Fear of the unknown – What if you finally write that book, build that model, stop being a hoarder, etc. and you discover that as soon as you finish whatever it is, the giant from Jack in the Beanstalk will attack you in an attempt to discourage future productive efforts? Better not to chance it.

#4. The costs are too high – When you accomplish a task, people around you who witness the final product, might expect similar results for the thousands of other things they want you to do. In that case, it would be better to keep expectations low to discourage productivity predators.

#3. America’s Got Talent is on – Why would you even attempt to do something when you could watch others try to and most often flop at what you were wanting to do?

#2. Not enough chocolate/caffeine – It never fails that when I am in the midst of something important, I run out of chocolate and or other forms of caffeine, and then am to depressed, tired, emotional to finish said task.

#1. You enjoy excuses too much – Why try to actually do something when you could come up with top ten lists of why you can’t do it?

22 thoughts on “Self Motivation: Or Lack Thereof – Top Ten

  1. Boy, you aren’t kidding. I just finished my third book and it was torture all the way. Thank goodness my teenagers have been eating all the snacks lately, otherwise, I might never have finished. Great post – thank you for sharing your humor with the world!

    • Why don’t you just write a book for me? I will supply snacks for all the kids so you can fully focus. 😉 On a more serious note, what is the title of your book? I will look for it, and thanks for the comment.

      • The new book is titled “From Diapers to Dorkville: Essays on Life, Love, and Why Growing Up Is So Hard to Do.” Other books are: “The Wacky World of Womanhood” and “Husbands, Hot Flashes, and All That Hullabaloo!” My husband is just glad this most recent book is not all about him for a change. 🙂 Thanks for asking!

    • I am so glad I am not the only one who feels that way. We should all have a pity party blog day when we can commiserate together on the difficulties of trying to do things. 😉

    • That’s what compassion gets us. I guess you could write a cookbook. On second thought, me cooking is usually a result of conflict. It is probably best to order out and just watch tv or something. 😉

  2. When I am unmotivated to do whatever it is I need to do, I clean my house. It is never cleaner than when I should have spent my energies writing for enjoyment or for my job. Of course, when I actually need to clean my house, I use writing as the excuse. Really, it’s a vicious circle.

    • Sad but true. If someone would just get motivated enough to make robots like on the Jetsons, life would be so much easier. After all, if a computer can win Jeporady, it should be able to write books for us too. Then we wouldn’t even have to have jobs. (Of course, by that point you might be motivated enough to want to be productive somehow).

  3. Unlike Paprika above, housework is usually the thing that I get involved in fiddling around with photos to avoid doing! I am quite “inertia prone” and on one of my e-mail accounts I have the blurb at the end “the sooner you fall behind, the more time you have to catch up”. That’s me to a T.

  4. So true! When you know you have to do something, you suddenly find a billion ‘fun’ things to do instead but when you have nothing to do and are bored, you can’t seem to find anything ‘fun’ to do either 😦 Or maybe its just that when you have some work to do, everything else just *seems* fun in comparison @.@

      • Well *technically* I should be working right now instead of reading blogs but I figure as long as no one can see my computer screen (and I don’t laugh out loud again >.<), they'll assume I'm working 😛 Lets just hope no one here reads your blog O.o

Comments are closed.