You don’t own me…but for 3 easy payments of $19.95…

When I was a child, my mother taught piano lessons. One of the songs we were naturally forced to learn was called “Money Can’t Buy Everything“. The lyrics were:

Money can’t buy everything. Money can’t make you a king. Money doesn’t bring success. Money can’t buy happiness.

But one thing that I am sure; Money doesn’t make you poor. Money doesn’t make you sad. Money can’t be all that bad.

Thought provoking isn’t it.

Anyway, the song has been proven throughout the years to be not quite as true as what I originally thought. Remember the days when if you toasted a piece of bread and it looked like Jesus’ face was in it, that you would just show it to another family member and say “isn’t that neat” before slathering it with jelly and taking a bite? Those day’s are long gone since the age of eBay and crazy people with more money than brains.

Have you ever watched that show “It’s Worth What?” If you haven’t, you are missing out because that show does a great job of emphasizing how much more important things like a celebrity’s measuring tape or used toothbrush are much more valuable than a great document from our country’s founding fathers.

A few months ago to celebrate my 10 year anniversary since being diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, I compiled a video for all of us disabled people set to the tune “Dear Ex, You Don’t Own Me” by Disciple. Recently I have also attempted to charge people for viewing my blog and sell my CT scans and MRI’s.

The point is that pretty much everything is for sale. I don’t know if that bothers anyone else, but it really has started rubbing me the wrong way. When did all that happen? Please don’t get me wrong, I still would like you all to pay me to read this stuff…or to buy my medical imaging pics…in fact, I wouldn’t mind selling you strands of hair or fingernail clippings if you want…just please tell everyone else to stop marketing their sweat or burnt toast. It is just getting a little old. Oh, and please be organ donors…you could at least give something away after you are dead.

Thanks… and I take Visa, Mastercard, and notarized IOUs.

8 thoughts on “You don’t own me…but for 3 easy payments of $19.95…

  1. It boggles my mind when I hear of someone dishing out a large chunk of change for some crusty, sweaty shirt that some singer wore on stage or something. There is truly something wrong with some people!

Comments are closed.