80 years old and still sexy

I must admit that I am not 80. That being said, I feel like I’m 80. Being in a wheelchair, using a walker for short distances, and taking a drawer full of medication each day tends to make you feel old.

The problem is that once you start feeling old, you start looking old too. Why not just wear your socks when you go shopping? Shoes are so uncomfortable. Those long flannel night gowns may not be attractive, but they sure are convenient. There is nothing like blue eyeshadow and hair to make you feel like a “spring chicken” (I guess that phrase means ready to be butchered).

In my opinion, it would be better to skip this middle-age stuff and get straight to BINGO and AARP, but until they invent a time machine that does not zap you back to the stone age; some of us are stuck in the land where birthday’s don’t matter (middle age is the only place where you can forget your own birthday and no one else cares enough to remind you).

Anyway, the reason I bring all of this up is that I recently got a haircut. It is cute…and I think it makes me look younger. Unfortunately I don’t know if I really want to look younger. I do like feeling better about my appearance, but won’t looking younger actually just prolong the agonies of middle-age-dom?

Honestly some of the most beautiful people I know are “senior citizens”. I think there is something about a life well lived and a story almost finished that gives beauty a whole new meaning. Maybe sexy is too strong of a word, but isn’t that what confidence is? Even people who don’t initially appear “sexy” can become that just by having confidence.

So, the moral of this story is that you can look like a 20-year-old, be 40-year-old, and feel like an 80-year-old. When I blow out the candles on my 80th birthday (if I make it that far); I hope I can do so with; a. a story well lived, b. a confident sexy smile, and c. teeth that don’t fly out. My hat’s off to all you wonderful seniors.

9 thoughts on “80 years old and still sexy

  1. I’m a 20-something year old but I can’t wait for wrinkles and a cane! I think they add a quality of life the young people don’t have, and that can definitely can be attractive. Embrace it! ❤ (In other words, don't get sucked into the medias portrayal that you have to be young to be beautiful.)

    • My Dad is 80. He has been preparing us for his death as long as I can remember. I believe that there is life after death, but his life here on earth has been an incredible thing. When you read a novel, there comes a point when you know the book is almost over, but that almost makes you hang on to each word even more. That is kind of what I mean. Older people have so much wisdom, and such great stories to tell, and when you realize they won’t be here forever, it makes you want to soak in that wisdom even more.

  2. I think the key to old age is not giving a rat’s ass. In my comfortable middle age, that’s what’s happened. I don’t really care if my socks match or I’m wearing a ridiculous T-shirt. I’m not out to impress anybody or make a statement. I’m happy, I don’t bother anybody else, and I don’t give a rat’s ass. Aaaaah, contentment.

    • So true. Having a middle-school daughter makes me so thankful that I am out of that “everyone is watching me” stage. Realizing that most people are too self-absorbed to even notice someone else’s socks or other pecularities has helped.

Comments are closed.