They say…

The best things in life are free…then why do we have to pay for chocolate?

Money doesn’t grow on trees…but paper money is made largely of cottonwhich does grow on trees.

Not to kick a man when he’s down…I would rather be kicked when I’m down than knocked off my feet.

Try it and then you’ll like it…I tried brusselsprouts…I still don’t like them.

Don’t count your chickens before they hatch…other than my blogger friend TikkTok, I don’t know anyone who has chickens to count.

You win some you lose some…tell that to the Patriots.

I’m sure that you all can think of more, but I have to go fix dinner, do some laundry, put some groceries away, etc. so that I can get to bed at a decent hour. You know what they say…early to bed and early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise. I think that might be up for debate. 😉

18 thoughts on “They say…

  1. LOL, I do know a friend who has chickens to count. And sometimes he counts them before they hatch. (I keep warning him not to do that, but he does, anyway.) And yes: he’s a chicken farmer. True as true can be.

    My personal favorites (and ones I made up! LOL!):
    “I don’t remember having forgotten a thing.” (use this one on the boss; see how bright they are.)
    “I’m not bad. I’m just bad at being good. Or vice versa.”
    “I’m not as dumb as you look.” (that one usually rates a double-take on their part as they figure that one out).
    “I be done as soon as I get finished.” (or finished as soon as I’m done)
    “I’ll be there as soon as I come.”

    and this one (which I taught my daughter at a very young age):
    Question: “How old are you?”
    Answer: “One day older than yesterday.”
    (always good on an application.) and if they insist on pursuing it: you’ll be one day older tomorrow. What a depressing though, eh?)

    And then there is this classic, asked by an old (chicken farmer) friend of mine (with a somewhat confused expression on his face):
    “Do farts got lumps?”
    I could not help but laugh. And got the heck out of the truck. Fast.

    • They say you shouldn’t jump off a bridge just because your friends are, but we all know bungee jumping is more fun if you go with friends. I’m glad you joined our “going to heck” group. 😉 We might jump off the sanity bridge together, but at least we’ll have fun doing it.

        • What…you think you’re the only one who can do death defying things (mrs. crazy driver)? Seriously though, I’m still a little freaked out about that. I know I don’t know you in person, but I would cry if you died. So, just be careful ok? I won’t jump off a bridge if you don’t flip your car or spin across 3 lanes. I can’t promise you that I won’t jump out of a plane though.

          • Maybe you and I could jump out of the plane together. I’ve always thought I wanted to do that. I say, “thought” because I’m not sure I would be so determined once I was actually standing in the doorway looking down…

            • Let’s do it! I have a plan…I’ll write about it; but to be really honest, I think it will be pretty scary once you are looking out that door too. Maybe we can get someone to come along just to push us out of the plane.

Comments are closed.