Lost Faith: Trifecta

Here is this weekend’s Trifecta challenge:

This weekend’s challenge is to write a story entitled ‘Lost’ in exactly 33 words. The word ‘lost’ can only appear in the title, not your 33 words. Any reference to the TV show could result in another visit to see the editors in the Trifecta offices.

Lost

As she carefully watched the magician’s hand.

The real trick was not quite as grand.

As the years went by, her disbelief would grow;

She soon learned, sometimes it’s better not to know.

60 thoughts on “Lost Faith: Trifecta

  1. Yo! This was relatable, but also kind of not-quite-unpleasantly eerie. Do you think it’s really better not to know? A conscientious ignorance? I take it there are implications beyond just your run-of-the-mill magic show. I liked it. I am new to Trifecta, and giving it a go. Looking forward to more from you.

    Cheers!

    • Honestly, yes, sometimes I think it really is better not to know. The problem is that I get a little obsessive sometimes, and feel the need to discover everything. But yeah, I like a good mystery. Thanks for stopping by.

      • And the knowing you don’t know, that doesn’t bother you? For me, knowing I don’t know or, worse, that there is nothing to know, or nothing not to know, I’m pretty much screwed no matter how you look at it. But nice to know I’m not the only one.

        • Sometimes knowing I don’t know bothers me, but it depends on what it is that I don’t know. For example, not knowing the color of my kids poop is ok with me, but they apparently feel like that is a “mom needs to know” situation.

          By the way, I read your trifecta and I love it!

  2. Im lost… what about Land of the Lost? would that get us in trouble?

    Good Job! I’m a little los – no wait I am at a loss t for words but I get the feeling of lost without including the word in the story – now – it must be said that I commonly feel lost without the word appearing anywhere so maybe you should take my opinion with a grain of salt but it also should be noted that I am referring to the character of your story not my own state of mind so I think therefore you got it!

    • Thanks! I can’t decide which is better, the knowing or not knowing, but there are definitely some things I wish I had never learned. A little magic never hurt anyone. 😉

  3. I hear ya, I wrote a blog on the same subject, magic that is. I was actually doing some video work for a magician and in order to shoot it properly I had to learn some of the tricks. Kinda took the wonder out of it for me.

    • It’s really sad. Remember when they were having that Magic’s biggest secrets revealed show with the masked magician? It is interesting, at first, then I would get that “let down” feeling. It’s kind of like reading a good mystery…the best part is before it is solved.

  4. I agree that sometimes, depending on what it is, it is better not to know. Magic kind of loses its luster without that faith. Wonderfully written.

    • Thank you so much. There have been a lot of mysteries that “knowing” has made them less exciting. I’ve got to admit that there are some times when knowing a little just adds to the bigger mystery.

  5. Thanks for linking up to Trifextra this weekend. I love your take on the prompt. I was always the kid who was trying to get to the bottom of things–what’s under the wrapping paper, how’d they do that, what’s this Santa thing really about–and in the end, I always wished I could rewind back to before I knew the truth. A nicely captured loss of innocence here. Hope to see you back on Monday.

  6. So true! I really like this. It’s so cool to see what everyone does with a prompt and 33 words. I’m happy to have found it!

  7. There is a loss of innocence as we grow older, including old beliefs like The Tooth Fairy, et al., but I try my best to “maintain my childlike innocence,” in part because much of it was stolen from me by my father.

    This was a good piece. If you don’t mind a suggestion, I’d edit that final line; I think there’s a way to phrase it, to make it sing along with the rest of the poem. Just a thought, Hobbler – my readers suggest stuff like this all the time, and I hope I did not offend. Peace, Amy http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/03/17/lets-get-lost-trifecta/

    • I think writers, by nature are curious. We want to know how…I’d not the reason behind something, we analyze our interpretation of something. That is one of the reasons I like a good book. It leads me along, but the Author understands the balance between knowing and not knowing.

Comments are closed.