Assistance Requested

Many of you participate in the Trifecta writing challenges each week. If you don’t, it is a wonderful way for writers to kind of push themselves by using given prompts and limiting their words, etc.

The thing is, and please don’t get offended anyone, but sometimes I get a little bored with the whole thing. I am not totally bored with it, I just want to stretch myself further. This is where you can help me. I need topics, anything you want to hear about, and I want to try to use the Trifecta prompts, but write with the topic of your choice. I just want to push myself and my writing, and I figure this should give me enough of an additional challenge to make it exciting. The thing is, I don’t really care about winning Trifecta, I just do it more as an exercise in writing.

If people suggested a topic, I would let everyone know which topic it is before Trifecta announces what word they will be asking us to use. So it is kind of like a double-blind placebo challenge.

For more information on Trifecta, check out this link. If you have an idea for a topic, you should give leave it in the comments here before Sunday. That way on Sunday, I can choose one of your topics, and on Monday I would know which word from Trifecta I would use. Make sense? I have never tried anything like this, and if it proves too difficult or if no one suggests anything, then I will chalk it up to lesson learned. I just want to get better at writing. Thanks!

36 thoughts on “Assistance Requested

  1. A UFO has crash-landed in your backyard
    OR
    You hear aliens communicating via radio
    OR
    Your mother is yelling at you
    OR
    You win the lottery
    Um… I think I’m out of ideas. They’re not very good, but maybe they’ll help?

    • Thanks, they all sound like fun, could I ask you something though? Do you think this is a stupid idea? I published that post and then thought “What did I just do?”

          • Hopefully it goes away this time too. With me, I write something, love it, then a couple months later despise it and want to feed it through the shredder…

            • I’m doing better with this one already. I usually don’t have remorse that much later. Well, sometimes if I wrote something really stupid. It seems like there are usually a few people who like pretty much anything, so that helps for moments when I’ve written crap.

      • Oh, it’s an alter ego I’ve had for about 4 years now. I felt like giving it life, besides joking with my friends that Bob the Martian was going to rule the world… I decided to create this blog and no, my goal is not to rule the world anymore. How did you decide your blog name?

    • I might have to combine yours with WhatIMeant2Say’s. That is about a dog too. I think that this is going to be fun, but I am going to have to decide what topic to do first.

  2. Well, this is why I’m doing a challenge within a challenge, to string them all together to have a single, cohesive story, using the prompts. So far, it seems to be working, but I’m having enough fun just doing that. ‘Course, I have a lot of other stuff on my plate, too………..

      • Meh. Mostly I’ve been battling the “I don’t give a shit”s and my running has been way off normal. I need to force myself back into a regular pattern, and somehow try to fit the extra writing in.

        It occurred to me today that I could totally live in my head and in my Kindle if there was no one else around. I mean, like literally my writing could become a reality for me, even though it’s fiction.

        Not quite sure that’ healthy; not quite sure what to make of it, but that’s where I’m landing………

Comments are closed.