Song of my life/night/day/what is this?

If you had told me at the beginning of this year that I would do the things that have already happened by July 21 I would have said that you were crazy.

Sometimes comfortable…other times not so much…

Pink Floyd Comfortably Numb Lyrics

Songwriters: WATERS, ROGER / GILMOUR, DAVID JON
Hello,
Is there anybody in there?
Just nod if you can hear me
Is there anyone home?
Come on
Now
I hear you’re feeling down
I can ease your pain
Get you on your feet again
Relax
I’ll need some information first
Just the basic facts
Can you show me where it hurts?
There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship’s smoke on the horizon
You are only coming through in waves
Your lips move
But I can’t hear what you’re saying
When I was a child
I had a fever
My hands felt just like
Two balloons
Now I’ve got that feeling once again
I can’t explain
You would not understand
This is not how I am
I… Have become comfortably numb
O.K.
Just a little pin prick
There’ll be no more aaaaaaaah!
But you may feel a little sick
Can you stand up?
I do believe it’s working
Good
That’ll keep you going through the show
Come on
It’s time to go
There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship’s smoke on the horizon
You are only coming through in waves
Your lips move
But I can’t hear what you’re saying
When I was a child
I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown
The dream is gone
I… Have become comfortably numb
40 thoughts on “Song of my life/night/day/what is this?

    • I’m sorry. I don’t think I can be madly in love with you anymore.

      Alright…fine. I’ll still adore you. I never really thought a lot about that song until I woke out of my drunken coma last night with it running through my head. Good times…

  1. One of many Pink Floyd songs that I like/love; eg. “The Dark Side of the Moon”; and “The Wall” obviously has many connotations for me/myselves (eg. that beginning where the little boy is saying “Look mommy; there’s airplanes in the sky”) – the ‘military’ theme at the beginning; the confusion /despair at the end – and yeah, the doctor’s trying to “fix me” and make me comfortably numb (they failed) because, after all . . . the show must go on.

    • It is a good one. I am adopting it as my song for the momment (you know how those moments can go). I am definietly numb. Not always comfortably, but the meds I’m on have dilluted my emotions to a pretty extreme level. It sucks in one way, but then again, sometimes it is really nice not to feel.

      • “sometimes it is really nice not to feel.”

        Re the song’s title: Comfortably Numb. 🙂

        Iron Man used to be one of ours. Let that tell you something about our teenager. And pay attention to the end of the song. It is rather sad. And yet so true now still – very true in some ways. “They” created something for which we have no use (the Apocolypse Child). oh well.

        • That is a pretty intense song. The real thing is at least. My son (I don’t know where he got this) walks around singing “I am iron man, running over fat people that I can”… I have no idea how/why he came up with that, but everytime I think of that song, those lyrics come to mind…kids. 😉

          How many identities do you have Jeff?

          • How many identities? Boy, that’s one I am still trying to figure out, and it is a very complex question! The answer is not as simple as 1,2,3. I can “see” the ‘potential’ “them” (kinda what we call “The Crowd”)- and there are literally hundreds, like little Alien eggs – unhatched and ‘waiting’ for the right environment to ‘form’. That is part of the ability and/or training I was given as part of an “insertion scheme” (nothing erotic there – we’re talking ‘insertion’ into a foreign country so that we can blend, blend, blend – and then spy on them, identify nullifiable directions we can take; eg. taking out a sub-station or two; throwing a . . . . well, lets just say those “military things” we hope to god we’ll never ‘need’ – though it’s getting old and we are breaking down somewhat with age, LOL.

            Basically there is “Little Michael” who ‘projected’ a personality we call “Little Mikey” (too sweet to be real) for so long ‘he’ (Little Mikey) became sort of a person of his own – but he is controlled by the puppet strings of “Little Michael” to a large extant (something we realized last year) – and “Little Michael” is shielding the Toddler (a minor bit) who contains many of our more horrible memories from before.

            Then there is “13” a transitory ‘being’ that was formed for about a year when we got back from overseas; some ‘ghosts’ which are built on other people (eg. “Religous Man” – a clone of our dad, and “MOM” all in caps – a vicious insane reptile) – from which we built “Aeola” (taking the best of ‘MOM’ and putting them there; Aeola is healing and learning from our and her experiences); Samuel and Sarah (whom ‘Aeola’ takes care of), the natives on ‘our’ island (a caretaking place) . . ..

            Then there is Matthew who was our host being for many years – a hard core teenager who was taught and learned many things, including some survival skills (along with “13”). Matthew plays a large part in our lives.

            There is what I fondly refer to as “M3” – the adult host of this being (currently at your service, ma’am!) – but really quite powerless in some ways. I am responsible for logical decisions, for which I must refer to ‘our’ Scientist Crowd (because there are quite a few of them) as well as our “Recorder” who has been around since like Day One recording everything (a humorless old man sometimes; denies us knowledge of some records of ours all the time) . . .

            Confused yet? LOL, don’t be. It’s really quite a mess – a can of three headed worms. Because no matter what, our system can’t “support” too many active minds ‘on top’ at one time except in dire or certain circumstances (see that military thing again). It’s also a flexible dynamic system; wasn’t built to do just one thing, but many – and many of them dependent on that near photographic memory for certain types of details (eg. I have a hard time riding through a town without looking for it’s weaknesses or what might bring it down).

            And yeah: Iron Man was our theme song for a long time. Many many years. But it just makes me kinda sad now. However, if the future an apocalypse brings . . . well (wry old tired grin) . . . that’s what ‘we’ were built to live in. Saving & helping others, that kind of crap; not about ‘us’ at all; more about rebuilding the “American Way” of social justice and freedom; that kind of stuff. It scares & bothers my wife, because she knows I would trade my life saving someone if the numbers are right – even though I wouldn’t want to – and she would suffer the loss.

            Gee I make some long comments. Sorry about that, boss.
            Until later girls.
            LOL!
            G’nite!

            • I’m not ignoring you Jeff, but this response will have to come at a time when I can take my time. It has been a busy few days. 😉

              • Hobbsy! Gee, this is ONLINE – and therefore I waayyyy understand what comes first – REAL Life! I promise to never ‘get mad’ or feel upset if you don’t ‘answer’ me over a period of time. I might get worried if you “disappeared” after a week or two – but again, this is online. I’ve learned: life goes on outside these electrons and pixels we send. Got that lesson a long time ago. (Did I ever tell you I was on the “internet” back in the mid-70’s? Unix & universities & military sites & things? We had a thing called “BBS” boards and ‘live chat rooms’, too, way back then. You just had to really know what you were doing! . . .

                Okay, enuff’ arcane knowledge guys (I’m just a treasure trove of useless facts, LOL!!). Just want you to know: I think – ‘we’ ALL think – it’s the right thing to do. And I don’t want you to ever feel you HAVE to reply – and I’m really patient. (I once worked on an engineering project that took 10 years . . off and on and off and on . . .)

                BUT …. ya know, ya got me thinking. I’ve done an “Inventory” before, but they are always kinda messy. I need to do a “right one” that best describes what “I” am – all those little alters & entities & ghosts and souls & whatall I got “running around” inside. And it’s really a scary notion when I look at “the Crowd”. Because I know what some of them are really for, and it sickens me. But that’s good to know as well. The bad as well as the good (big gulp, like a little boy facing the House of Horrors . . . again, LOL!). But – big smile – cheers – and yeah – I’m behind as well. . . Life, ya know, 😉

        • Glad it won’t bother you Jeff. I like replying to comments, and yours are long. I read your post about Little Michael. I didn’t comment though. Sometimes I don’t know what to say (imagine that, me, no words). It is sad, but sweet in a disturbing way.

          I totally think you should inventory yourself, but if you do it, does it trigger any really bad ones you have hiding in there? You would need to be careful, reflective, but in control, you know? It might be best done with just 1 a day or something, and make sure your wife knows what is going on, so she can keep a frying pan handy to hit you over the head with if you get too crazy. 😉

          Just teasing of course. It might be really good, to let them kind of speak you know? Just for a little while. You couldn’t lose yourself. I am overanalyzing I think.

          Here lately I have been really seeing how much of themselves people hide. We all have a freaky side… sometimes it is good to let that side out too, in a relatively controlled environment.

          Anyway, bye for now guys. Hey, did you and your wife enjoy the beach? You did help her load the car right?

  2. Love this song. Got in a world of trouble in school when I chose this song for a literature project. *giggles* Professors are so dill.

    Red.

Comments are closed.