Trifextra: Leap

Trifextra:

Forty-three years ago today, Neil Armstrong became the first person to ever walk on the moon.  In celebration of Moon Day we want you to write 33 words about someone who took a giant leap.  It can mean whatever you’d like, just make sure you write exactly 33 words.

When do you realize you are out of options?

Planes crashing.

Smoke.

Heat.

Building moaning.

People screaming.

Scent of desperation.

Choices ending.

Glass breaking.

Man leaping.

Towers falling.

No good options.

Encompassing death.

54 thoughts on “Trifextra: Leap

  1. Great choice. This event affected me greatly. In those who jumped, I see bravery. They went on their own terms.
    Red.
    xxx

    • I agree. It is heartbreaking, but inspirational in a way. They didn’t have any good options. Death on their terms. Tragic yet powerful.

    • Me too. It is hard to think about, but when I saw the challenge was with “leap” that wouldn’t get out of my mind. So much destruction. Since I struggle with self-destructive thoughts/behaviors, I can easily forget how lightly I take my life. To see people make that choice, when they probably never thought like that before…it reminds me of the value of existence. I hope that makes sense…

  2. Amazing use of the prompt! I see such bravery in that picture and in your words. And such senseless loss.

  3. Amazing recap of that horrific day. Having read your reply to one of the comments, it’s easier to to try to put something like that out of our minds but it helps us appreciate life.

    • It is easy at times to put that day and other tragic events out of our minds, but sometimes I know I need to reflect on it. Lives crashed down, but lives around the world were also brought together. Life itself is too often taken for granted. At least it is for me.

  4. Great poem, Hobbs. Although I hate that I actually saw people jumping that day. I lived about a mile north of the towers and saw it all live. I can’t imagine how horrific it must be to have to make that choice.

    • Thank you. It’s a powerful picture of…resolution? The awareness of how final life is. So many people lost all their choices that day. A few made one final one.

    • Thank you Brian. It is hard to describe all of the emotions the pictures from that day evoke. I actually wrote the poem before finding the pic, but that was the leap I was thinking about.

      You should enter the Trifecta challenges. You would be great at it.

  5. This was hard to read. Harder still to see that picture. I was there that day and I’m sent right back when I come across those images. I don’t think it was bravery, I think it was desperation. You depicted the horror well.
    Thanks for linking up this week. We hope to see you back next time.

  6. Powerful… shattering… yet clear and crisp. Concise. As unexpected as a… (I am not going to say plane crash)… It is hard to judge how much I like being this moved on such a crappy subject.

Comments are closed.