Bedtime stories: Beautiful

Once upon a time there was a beautiful princess. She loved to play, but her play was different from the other kids. So she often stood alone.

Inside of her head were art and music and life, but it was hard for the princess to get it out. So she would rock back and forth to the music playing in her head.

She saw beauty in things that others were repulsed by, so sometimes she would try to create pictures with the things so that other people could see how beautiful they were too.

Sometimes when she looked into people’s eyes, she saw sadness. She saw other emotions in their eyes that you and I might not be able to see. She was afraid to see pain in her moms eyes, so she rarely made eye contact. She didn’t want to see disappointment or fear or sadness, so she didn’t look.

She knew things that she didn’t understand, and she sometimes understood things that she barely knew.

One thing she knew was that her mommy and daddy loved her. She didn’t really know what that meant except that she needed them. So she clung to them in her own way. She walked away from them to be sure they followed. She screamed to be sure they heard her. She loved them too, but her mind soaked it back in before she could say it.

She was beautiful. Art inside, numbers inside, love inside and the days she would show a glimpse of what was inside would astound whoever saw it. She was special. A lovely butterfly trapped in a child’s body. She teaches others as they care for her.

At night, when she finally falls asleep, her mind opens and she plays with her art, with her ideas, it is beautiful, peaceful. If only you could see her dreams…

29 thoughts on “Bedtime stories: Beautiful

    • Thank you. I was thinking of your son and others like him. My dream job when I was a teen was to work with autistic kids. It didn’t work out, but I loved writing this.

      • They ALWAYS need assistants in special ed settings. I think the official ratio is 12:3, but usually there’s less than 12 kids and more than 3 adults. And nothing makes my son happier than numbers, letters, and shapes. BTW, what is a polyhedron? I seriously have no clue. 🙂

    • Thank you. The kids with Autism, and a lot of other disorders have secrets. Mysteries. I think they can see more than most people. I don’t have a lot of personal experience though, but I have a feeling…

      • Early in my career, I worked as a Child Therapist with pre-school kids with autism. As mysterious as this disorder is, it is extremely interesting. The kids were able to form some sort of relationships with us, although most people wouldn’t consider these to be ‘normal’ relationships. Lovely kids, enjoyed my job and I still get the opportunity to work with adults on the Autism Spectrum….

  1. :/ You know I’m a sucker for this kinda writing, don’t cha? (shy grin). Might not be manly, but I like it anyway (and so does Aoela, one of my feminine ‘halves’, LOL!)

  2. Hmm… I could oddly relate to the second, third and fouth pargraphs. Almost as if you are writing about me.

Comments are closed.