Bedtime Stories: Feeding Monsters

There once was a pretty girl. She listened to her teachers and her parents. She kept her room clean and she played the piano well. All in all, great kid.

She loved to brush her long  blond hair. As she brushed, she would sing lovely melodies and imagine her life as a future star.

Some days she would bring her brush to school so she could brush her hair at recess, or when she had finished her test and  had to wait for the others to finish.

One day after she finished her test, and turned it in, she started  brushing her hair waiting for the other kids to finish. Unfortunately, the substitute that day did not allow hair brushing while the other children were testing, so the substitute took the hairbrush.

When the class was done, everyone filed out, forgetting the hairbrush. It wasn’t until she got home after school that Blondie remembered the brush. She told her grandma the story.

Now, now, dear, it isn’t that  big of a problem, you can get the brush tomorrow. You can use my brush tonight.” her grandmother said. But Blondie was still upset. In fact the more she thought about it, the more upset she became. When dinner came around, she was very angry that the substitute had not remembered to give her the hairbrush. Substitutes don’t exactly do too much. She should have easily remembered.

“Stop feeding your monsters child” her grandmother said. “When someone hurts you or makes you mad, a little monster gets inside you. The more you think about it and talk about it, the larger the monster grows, until soon the once small problem, becomes a real problem. It is now a monster filled with anger, hatred, disgust. If he gets big enough, he will destroy you.”

“Sounds like a story grandma. I’m getting too old for those.” Blondie went up to her room to read before she went to sleep. She was too frustrated with the whole thing to do her homework, so she didn’t even get it out of her bag. When she tried to sleep, she had a difficult time, because she was worried about the brush. What if the substitute accidentally left with the brush, and didn’t come back tomorrow. What if she couldn’t remember where she had put it?

The next day, with uncompleted homework and a restless night’s sleep,  Blondie went back to school. She tried to do some of the homework, but she kept running out of time before class and falling asleep in class. When it was finally time for the “hairbrush” class, Blondie hurried to the substitute to ask where her brush was, and why she didn’t get it back after class. She also told the substitute that she had been falling asleep and having late work in her classes. All because she was worried about the  brush.

“Well, I’m very sorry to hear about your problems. I put the brush in your backpack yesterday. I thought surely you would see it when you got your homework out” the substitute said. “Now class, take your seats and open your books to page 283.”

29 thoughts on “Bedtime Stories: Feeding Monsters

    • You don’t have to like my writing to like me silly. I’ll come check out your blog in a bit and proclaim my adoration for you. 😉

  1. This was charming, and ended with a very relatable message. I thought she was going to be brushing her hair and find that it was coming out in big chunks because she had contracted some horrible disease…
    I liked your ending better.

  2. When I was adopted into the family that took me in in my early 20’s there was a kid. And he kept on lying. So I wrote a book for him (illustrations and all!). I have it now (he had me keep it for safekeeping). It was all about lies – and the First Lie. And how the 1st Lie led to the 2nd and so on until he had a Pack of Lies. (The illustration shows a lot of little demons with numbers and him laying in bed, covers to his wide eyes) . . . and 1 sitting on the footboard telling him: if you only hadn’t made me, the first one . . .

    in the end they hauled him off to Hell.

    LOL, job well done, Hobs – I kept expecting a different ending (that there WERE monsters in her).

    Ever read about “Feeding the Bad Wolf” by the way? It’s a lesson a lot like this. 🙂
    Good story, Btw – we all really enjoyed the ending! (Happy is always better than bad, IMO nowadays!) LOL!

    • You should publish the lie book. It sounds like a good story! I’ve had some lying issues lately. It’s weird. I never would have said/did most of the things I’ve done is the last 6 months.

      I was researching some of the medications I’m on as well as the addictions themselves to some of those medications, and it is so interesting. I did not realize how much addiction can affect you, no matter what you are addicted to. Anyway, I think these things have changed my personality. I’m hoping those changes don’t become permanent.

      Sorry, I got sidetracked. This story is loosely based on what I tell my kids, when come home venting about teachers and friends. But I have grown several monsters inside of me over the years.

      • The only problem an editor / publisher would have with the book (it has wonderful pen & ink, watercolor illustrations) is the ‘terrible end’. In today’s society – and especially children’s themes – everything has to have a happy bright end all full of shining hope. Nothing to smack ’em upside the had with a good ol’ dose of REAL life reality! (eg. book ends with kid dead). At the same time I wrote about the “Pack of Lies” (which is what inspired the whole deal) I wrote a much better YA: “The Last Wish” (again illustrated, but much less) about the best wish you can make. Unfortunately the girl I gave it to (she was about 12 or 13) lost it over time after I left – long sad stories there, Hobs, I won’t go into here – but it about broke my heart and does today. I’ve lost 3 “families” in a sense, though my 4th (this one) . . . well, even that F’d up some, but not due to me (so surprisingly). Ditto, I think the one with those most precious kids who saved my life (the one I wrote the stories for). Their family fell on hard times after I left . . . the boy was sexually abused . . . a lot of crap that broke my heart and that I feel I could have prevented (like them losing their house).

        Ok, my heart is hurting, so off that subject.

        Yeah, meds can F-up your life. I know. My wife had one: her ex-husband, who ended up torturing her and terrorizing her and her (and his) own kids after he got diagnosed with kidney problems and they failed – and he refused to take care of himself. Again, long story. Ended in them getting divorced. But it was the meds which (he claimed) contributed towards the end. They made him … messed up. Rage issues and whatnot.

        Even coffee can affect you and change your personality – and its addictive, too. (Not that I am going to forgo my early morning cup of Joe!). It is wise to educate yourself on the meds docs give you because even they aren’t quite sure and many don’t know all the effects. I always used to insist on getting the Manufacturer’s data sheet on it and read through all that very fine print – you never know, you may be that 0.05% that ‘they’ talk about and the doc fails to mention.

        Personally I have found “less is best” with medication and drugs. I’ll admit: I’m an old pot ‘addict’ and have been a long time. It’s for my own good (controls rages, occasional pain pill – codeine – nausea, stuff like that). And I prefer it over beer (way less fattening) which I can’t drink too much anyway – it’ll make me sick long before I get drunk, LOL!

        I can’t advise you on your meds, hon. That’s always a personal decision which must be faced by the user with their own indepth knowledge of themselves. But I have little doubt given what you’ve said there are some ‘effects’ going on which you may (or may not) have been aware of. One trick is to *carefully* examine your emotional / mental life for the past few years: when you have been “okay to contented” for months at a time vs “irritated depressed and/or miserable” for months at a time – and look at what you were taking at what doses compared to what you have today.

        Monsters. On the inside. (Grim grin, scowl, grimace, et all). WE got ’em – but made friends with ‘them’ over time (a hard thing to do). Fed one or two of them for a LONG time, and very well! (Fat ol’ silly monsters, you!). More meds to combat meds, meds for med effects – I don’t know what you can do. All I know is what works for me – “less is best” kind of thing – and my doctors grudgingly agree. They’ve seen what happens when you put the wrong med in me. I can go crazy – and not in a good way, either. Quite violent, I believe. But (smiling) – ‘we’ have changed ourselves quite a bit inside – taming monsters and making pets of them.

        Keep on writing – you have some talent there, especially (it looks like) for children books / themes. That’s where the money is, by the way. Glad to see you are doing it because I think this (writing) is good for you. Even in a fiction ‘story’ you can get the truth out – as we did in my book. It felt ‘good’, albeit hard as hell to write it – tho’ as you’ve read, it is “fiction” it damn sure is a good description (in some ways) of some of my ‘souls’ – and the battles they have been in. I still show the scars, inside and out, but hopefully those wars are a thing of the past – and I hope the same holds true for you in the coming days ahead.

        Give your husband a good hugging and a kiss – somehow I think like my wife is for me, he is good for you. Grounding you in life somewhere and keeping you from spiraling into . . . well, hell. Who knows. I may just be projecting.

        distant hugs and no kisses, but respect for you and yours.
        Jeff, et all & friends.

        • Some children’s books have tragedies. The “Series of Unfortunate Events” has a lot, and Grimms. Anyway, I don’t know. It sounds like publishing it might just bring up more chaos than it is worth. Memories can be hard and sometimes dangerous.

          I think that less is more, with regards to the meds is a good strategy. The medication (provigil) that actually helps, doesn’t dillute me. It helps me focus, where some of the others space me out.

          I don’t think I could stop writing if I tried, and yeah, my husband is good for me. I have made his life hell at times though. I don’t think I am good for him. Anyway, thanks Jeff and friends.

          • 😉 Maybe you are your husband’s lesson in life. Maybe he is yours. Who knows?

            Yeah, Provigil did me good as well – it’s a brain drug as you understand, not one of those herky-jerky amphetamine products like they give me now, which I don’t take but my wife does sometimes when I keep her up late – they’re for work. Thus I am keeping up my prescription.

            I find memories dangerous but necessary to know. And hard – hell yeah. On that note, I ran across that “little kid” I told you about (the one who saved me) – today! – after many years when I went to vote. Me, him, & his momma. It was wonderful but troubling to see him: he is all grown up, hard times just as I knew he would and the reason I got to see him was another hard time in his life (not doing so good). I reckon he doesn’t remember telling me what his uncle did to him – but I do. And I’m sure he remembers those events which led to that confession when he was little. But I put it into their ear (just a little spark or two) how much I miss them and their family . . .

            and when they left and we were talking ‘family’ (I made sure to thank the mom for what they did: “you saved me, ya know, more than one time.” – she didn’t / doesn’t know but I said: Family is who you make them and has nothing to do with blood – and their momma said (with surprise in her face, as tho’ this is the first time she’s ever heard this) – “Why! That’s the way *I* feel, too!”

            We’ll see. And there must be something about you that your husband likes – loves, actually. Maybe its like me: “You’re different” is what my wife said. Apparently. LOL.

            Kids stories – yeah, you’re right. Ol’ Brother’s Grimm could be grim as hell. As for ‘chaos’ – gee, we’re not scared of that, LOL!!! That’s just public opinion, not ours. And you know what I like to say: Don’t let others define your being. Which ‘they’ would try to do (and try anyway).

            ’nuff said. Long winded.

            • Running across that kid again is so cool. I bet he remembers telling you that. Traumatic experiences linger, even when you just talk about them.

              There is something I think my husband likes…I’m just not always sure what.

              I wrote a rather grim tale in the toy story bedtime thing. Sometimes life is grim. I know that we try to make everything have a happy ending, but sometimes we need a reality check.

              • Personally I like the dark endings sometimes. Really well. Because life ain’t no Hollywood movie and everyone seems to expect their lives to be like them. (What if they really were: aren’t ‘we’ all writing our own scripts sometimes, even if just in your head? do tell and move on, Michael, LOLing! – Jeff here.

                So I look at it as dark stories have a tale to tell as well, and a good one sometimes. It’s a proven fact human beings remember fear above all other emotions – it’s part of our survival trait (which explains why we remember what we do the way we do so well). And I think dark stories are appropriate for children sometimes as well. A recent study showed where teenagers (and children) value / view rewards over possible consequences (Smithsonian, just last year). And that weight of decision relies on many factors – one of which is what you have learned before about risk taking. And that can come in the form of stories as well (as spoken traditions in tribes were used for). Warnings and to ‘foretell’ something if you keep going down the ‘wrong road’. So you can’t say you didn’t see it when you were looking – and told about it anyway.

                nuff said. I know you are a busy girl; we are here, too – daughter is down for a few days and I might go up to her ‘hood for the weekend for a inner tube trip down a river with fish biting on my ass . . . oh well (grin). Kids will be kids and she wants me there this time.

                ’til later, Hobs. It’s still Wed. (I am F’ing up my daze this week, forgetting about that pun there, LOL!)

  3. Oh, I wanted her hair to start falling out too. (I think I have blonde hair envy or something…) I’d also never heard about feeding the monsters although I do that sometimes.

Comments are closed.