Bedtime stories: Wishes

Once upon a time there was a little boy. Overall, this boy was pretty content. He had his toys and his video games. He had a mom and dad, a sister and a brother. He had a dog that was his best friend, although he had lots of other really good friends too.

The one thing that this little boy didn’t have, that he sometimes wished for was a ride on a shooting star. He didn’t know why he wanted that. He couldn’t play with it. He couldn’t take it places. Even when he learned what shooting stars really were, it didn’t stop his wish. Somehow he knew there was more to it than what was in his books.

One day he was walking to school, and a horrible thing happened. Someone had lost control of their car and he was hit. The paramedics took him to the hospital. The doctors did everything they could do, but by the time his family could make it there, he had passed away.

Words could never describe the agony his family felt. Time went by, and they still rarely smiled. His sister had nightmares, and his brother became withdrawn.

One night, while his mother was sleeping, he appeared to her in a dream. He was crying. “My son, my baby. Why? I needed you. We need you” she cried while she ran to hold him. She threw her arms around him and wept with him.

After a while, he backed away enough to look in her eyes. “Mommy. I need you too. I don’t know why it happened, but I am okay. Different, but okay. I can ride them mom. Things are different on the other side. There’s so much more than you can see, but you have to believe me. It is incredible. We all get to ride them if we want to. Before you ever see them. When they are out there.” He pointed to the sky. “The only times you see them, are when one of us wants you to. When we want someone to know we are okay. You never look mom.” His eyes filled with tears again. “You all never look. Your heads are always down. Can’t you see why I’m sad?”

Sarah awoke, and sat up in bed, just as Bill was coming back in the room. “You won’t believe what I just dreamed” Sarah said. “You too?” said Bill. “Jenny, and Todd are downstairs. Shooting star right?”. Later that night the family laid on a blanket out back with Buck watching the sky. “We’re going to be okay, right?” said Jenny. Just then a star fell.

25 thoughts on “Bedtime stories: Wishes

  1. That was another excellent post today. You make it look so easy. Thanks so much for sharing. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a wonderful day!

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today –

    • Streaking, without me there? Tsk tsk. When will you learn? I suppose you need some kind of punishment now. Hmm, whips? Chains? Ropes…

      I should probably stop. I’m trying to be good. Just for you though. I can’t help it. Anyway, quit streaking through my blog. Stay and have a few drinks or something. It is good to see you though.

      I’ll try to streak through your blog a little later. 😉

      • how annoying, I had a long reply set up and it disappeared *fumes* Will be trying to update my blog later today, albeit I’ve done nothing exciting lately except work .. so will check back in then and see how you are x

        • Okay LITFL.Yeah, I hate it when WP eats my comments. You have to tell us how your love…what would that be? A love rectangle? We need an update on the three guys. See you in a bit.

  2. Hey hobbles (sly wink) – you do know what the greatest wish is, right? It’s the one I make every year (on my birthday) and every first star I see at night (I wish I may I wish I might . . .) . . . and anything there is to wish on.

    I’ll leave it up to you and others to second guess what this wish is. Somehow (LOL’ing) – I’m betting you guess it, too.

Comments are closed.