Bedtime Stories: Lost

Once upon a time there was a little girl. She grew up very poor. She didn’t have new clothes, just hand-me-downs and clothes from the thrift store. She didn’t have fancy toys, just things that she found at garage sales, and she learned how to make dolls out of paper, yarn, and the most beautiful were out of flowers.

This little girl had a dollhouse that she had made with her dad. It wasn’t a fancy dollhouse, but it was better than the cardboard boxes she used to use. Some days when her dad would go to the pawn shop, he would take her along. The most beautiful store was right next door, and since she was a good little girl, she could stay in that store and wait for her dad.

The store was magic. It wasn’t a magic store, and no one said it was magic, but she knew it was. It was a miniature store. Fancy china, perfectly scaled furniture, beautiful paintings, even tiny silverware were held in little packages all along the walls, and big beautiful dollhouses were also on display. She could have spent all day there, just looking and imagining.

One of the things this child did have, was a knack for finding spare change. On the sidewalks, in coke machine change pockets, even under shelves and along the edges of things, she found pennies, nickels, sometimes even dimes and quarters. Once she even found a five dollar bill, which she took to the clerk, and they kindly let her keep. Her dad also usually had some change in his pocket that he would give to her, when her sisters talked her into asking him for it. They would then split the bounty.

The little girl saved her money and bought things from the miniature shop. One day, when she was looking she decided that she would save enough money to buy a family for her dollhouse. Real dolls. It was about $15.00, so it took her a while, but finally she had enough to get it. She treasured those dolls. There was a dad and a mom, a boy, a girl, and a baby. She took them everywhere.

Life went on, and time went by, and somehow she lost the baby. She knew soon after that she had lost it, so she looked everywhere. She looked in her room, in the attic, in the basement, outside, everywhere, but she couldn’t find it. She cried many times and if you added up the time she spent looking, it would have been weeks. She never found the doll, but she never forgot. Years went by, and finally the family was going to move. She would never be in that house again.

The search started again, even as the moving van pulled away from the house, she thought of the doll. She loved it. The dolls were her friends.

She would one day grow out of dolls, but she lost that one. Even though she grew up, she still wonders where it was, where it is now, and what happened to it. She still wishes she hadn’t lost it. Silly right? I guess that just because you lose something, doesn’t mean that you stop caring for it. Sometimes losing something makes you value it even more. That doesn’t mean you should spend the rest of your life looking for something that is gone, but maybe you should spend the rest of your life valuing the things you do have, before you lose them too.

44 thoughts on “Bedtime Stories: Lost

  1. Lovely post! I was enthralled by this story. Things lost are usually valued more because you understand what is is to live with them and then without them.

    Adieu, scribbler

    • Yes, it is almost suffocating, the realization of what is gone. I hope to learn to really value the things I do have, but it is hard at times. I have come close to losing a lot more than what I’ve lost already, in many areas of my life.

    • Thanks. Ah, the conclusion…it would have been so much better for nothing to be lost, but here we are. I need to love what is in front of me and hold on to it. Maybe together we can find parts of us that have been lost, and maybe that will make everything else okay too.

      Disclaimer: I’ve already taken my night meds and I may not remember this comment

  2. Wow this so beautifully written and utterly captivating. I’m seriously left speechless. You are a very talented writer and I love the moral of the story. Again, great job!

    • Thanks so much Tiffany. You all are way to kind. This is just me. My childhood, the whole thing is true, and I am still learning the moral. It is hard for me to let things go, but I do have so much now that I should cherish.

  3. Thank you for reminding me of something I was going to post on my Facebook page today:
    “Instead of looking back at what you have lost, look forward to see what you can build.”
    Thanks for reminding of that.

    odd, funny, Hobs – I was thinking that last night. wtf, LOL’ing – have you got an inside track on my head? Just wondering – because that’s all I need – another bug wandering around in my skull, LOL!!!

    Have a fun day. Great story, BTW – with a moral attached.

    • Thanks! It was good to write about it. That is my childhood. Relatively normal as far as going to pawn shops and climbing in dumpsters and stuff. 😉

      • Won’t tell you my dumpster diving story – lol, you’d probably be grossed out. I think it’s wonderful and I love hearing stories about ‘normal’ people’s childhoods – the good summer tales, the sweet cliche’s. But no one escapes unscathed through life – one of the lessons I’ve learned through life. I’m sure you’ve got some hair-raisers to tell as well, LOL.

  4. I could feel my chest tightening at the end, with her having lost the doll and not getting it back. For some reason I got that awful panicky feeling you sometime get when you lose something. Nice one, Hobbs.

  5. Wonderful post; and excellent end of the story. I forgot most of the things really important to me in the day to day life. But Missing them is a real worry if you think back.
    You should spend the rest of your life valuing the things you do have, before you lose them too. : This line makes me really to think back or analyze me back what am i doing?

    Thanks anyways for sharing

    • Thank you for stopping by. It is a hard lesson to learn, and sometimes you should look back to see where you have come from, sometimes also to remember what it is like to lose something. Hopefully we learn how important the things we have, are.

Comments are closed.