Ode to the Tootsie Roll

 

 

Oh, little brown thing, shaped like poop

You’re the only thing my kids won’t scoop

Off the street in the parade

The one to me, they quickly gave

It isn’t as if they don’t like you

When the parade started, they took a few

They grab the candy covered Tootsie pop

After so many rolls, they finally stop

The other kids are glad to find

The ones my children leave behind

I think it’s cause you are so cheap

Your shelf life makes you easy to keep

You get passed out on Halloween

You seem to be the one between

Every other good candy

But I think that you’re quite handy

You meet my need for something sweet

You are a somewhat tasty treat

So I’ll write poems, just for you

You sort of chocolatey sticky goo

11 thoughts on “Ode to the Tootsie Roll

Comments are closed.