Halloween

20131026-130923.jpg

Halloween and kids go together like peanut butter and jelly. A lot of adults are getting into Halloween now too.

Most of my readers know that I’m in a wheelchair, so I’ve been trying to think of some ideas that could incorporate the chair into the costume.

A few years ago I dressed up like a prisoner in an “electric chair”. It was fun and funny. Anyway, there are a lot of kids and adults in wheelchairs, and instead of just dressing up and sitting in a chair, here are some ideas to incorporate and decorate it.

Kids:

Prince or princess in a throne. (Could probably just buy a princess outfit and some shiny gold material to drape the chair in. Stick on Velcro is a good way to secure the material to keep it out of the wheels.

Jack in the box- dress torso in stripes representing the spring and wear white mittens and doll type face makeup. A large upside down box painted bright colors can be the box. You should use an additional piece of cardboard against the backrest like the lid. And make a tinfoil handle you could attach to the box.

If you are an adult, the jack in the box idea could be turned into a stripper in a gift box. Stuff tissue paper around your legs, and wear a sexy top with a large bow on your head.

That’s all I can think of so far. If anyone has ideas, feel free to share them in the comments.

9 thoughts on “Halloween

  1. I’ve been thrilled that Halloween has become so big a holiday, as it is really cool to decorate with scary colors and objects. There are even Halloween “Christmas” trees that are all dried up with no needles and painted black, with skulls and pumpkins hanging from the branches.
    A couple ideas for wheelchairs are a robot and a “ghost” that could even be see-through or lit from inside, that’s pushing you in the chair. Also — a skeleton horse pulling the wheelchair that’s made to look like a medieval chariot or hearse.

    • Those are some great ideas! I like Halloween being what it is now, although, I do get annoyed at how early stores start setting up stuff for all the holidays.

  2. I was in a wheelchair in second grade after breaking my leg. My mom got me a mask from the show Gargoyles and put gargoyle wings on the handles of the wheelchair. I know I’ve also seen stuff like ice cream man. Really anything with a car could be pulled off well.

    • Yeah, I was thinking with the kids movie “cars” there would be some good kids costumes. Maybe you could dress up like a baby in a stroller or something too, but that might not be such a good idea…

Comments are closed.