Update

Haven’t been here in a while. Lots of things have been going on, and just in case anyone out there still comes by here, here’s an update.

Last year we had some bad storms. My in-law’s home was destroyed, but my mother-in-law saved me a few pieces of rubble which I’ve been making jewelry out of. I would like to sell them, but is that morally okay? People died in those storms.

I had a couple surgeries this summer. I have a sneaky suspicion my surgeon just has a thing for robots. My left leg used to be longer than the right (since the 1st surgery) but now (after the second) I think the right’s longer. It’s weird.

I’m still doing a clinical trial for a drug, and they extended the trial indefinitely. I’m pretty sure I’ve been on a placebo, but in a few months I get the real thing. It should be interesting.

We got a puppy. We still have our other dog. Puppies have sharp teeth. Like razors. And bad breath. And more pee than logically makes sense. I’m still more of a cat person.

My kids have been sick. Me too. Like, “wish I was dead” sick, but hopefully it will pass one way or another soon.

Lastly, I’m not sure about writing. I’m doubting my abilities. Being sick isn’t very inspirational either. I’m thinking about deleting this blog. If I ever started blogging again, I’d use my hypothetical pen name.

Signing off for now,

11 thoughts on “Update

  1. I think selling that jewellery is a very good idea! As the money you’ll make will support yours and your family life. I really don’t think you need a better reason (and to be honest, I don’t think there is ever can be a better reason!) With regards to writing I think you have the case of post Christmas blues that clearly was made much worse by very unfortunate state of your health. I’d say wait till the spring is here and you see in the florist’s windows…mimosas and lilies of the valley…my two favourite flowers of all timer. Then you’ll get them from that florist, bring it home, put it in very simple vases, place those somewhere where you can see it from your writing table, sit down, breathing the beautiful aroma that will make you smile ( I hope;). And then I hope inspiration will get a firm grip on your state of mind. P.S. Hope you like my plan…Love! E ;0)

  2. I’m sorry that you’ve been having such a difficult time…. this year has likely been the worst for me physically and emotionally…. so I can empathize with you…. I don’t think it matters how long you’ve been away…. I think there are those who will always be here…. Hope you feel better soon… Diane

    • Thanks Diane. It will pass. Creativity is a blessing that often comes with emotional baggage, as I’m sure you know. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve had a rough year. Writing (and other forms of airing the chaos) seems to help me. I hope your year starts looking up.

  3. I’d rather you post once in a blue noon than delete. Youcare a fabulous writer- don’t let the disease tell you otherwise. At least wait until you’ve been on the real drugs before you decide……

  4. Oh, please come back Hobbles! I loved reading your posts! You have been missed! To catch you up on my news, I am no longer working, I have filed for disability! I have recently been diagnosed with COPD, but before the diagnosis I was really struggling with breathing problems & micro tears in the ligaments of my left knee. I am now walking with a cane, but I don’t walk far because of my breathing.

  5. Oh! I just thought about smth, darling! May b your current state of mind is also due 2 the side effect of the drug that u think was a placebo…… Do u know of possible side effects of the real thing? E ;0)x x x x x

    • Thanks John. I believe I am a bit of a mental case, but I suppose that’s not much of a surprise. 😉 I’m trying to figure it out… On a daily basis seems practical right now.

Comments are closed.