Tornado: Moore Strong

A year ago yesterday was when the tornado wiped out a lot of my town, including the hospital. This site was where they had the remembrance ceremony. I’m sure a google search will lead you to much more information than I could give here, but at the end of all the politicians speaking they broke ground for the new medical center.

I went to the event, in my powerchair of course. Broken foot and all. My kids helped me make a sign for the chair:
20140520-190528.jpg

I also wrote the motto of our town on my t-shirt:
20140520-190701.jpg
It was fun. Funny. Sad. Several people mentioned my signs, one of whom was a woman with Parkinson’s who had lost her home in the tornado. She wanted to tell me thanks, for being strong, or at least trying to be, and for showing the world. There were a lot of news organizations from around the world, many who took pictures of me and my signs. I even got interviewed by our local Fox News station. This was all great, but the reason I’m writing about it because I feel like a fraud.

You see, sometimes I have moments of strength, optimism, hope; but I feel weak now. Alone. Sad. I want to make a difference. I want to help. Show people that life’s circumstances don’t have to get you down. Unfortunately, that’s not the whole truth. Some things about life suck. Sometimes you can feel strong for a while, then you get home and realize how weak and pathetic you are. Why can’t I just feel strong all the time?

Thankfully, strength isn’t the only thing that matters. When the tornado hit, and many times since, I’ve felt incredibly weak, but maybe the weak times are when other people get a chance. To lift you up, to support and encourage; or to tear you down even more. I guess the choice is up to each individual.

Strength can be used to push someone around, or bend them to your will. It can also be used to pull someone up. I hope I make the right use of my strength when I have it. I hope you do too.

8 thoughts on “Tornado: Moore Strong

  1. Even the strongest person needs a hand up some times. I hope blogging about this is helping you work through all the issues associated with the tornado. It had to have been a frightening experience and I wouldn’t doubt that even those who consider themselves big and brave were praying and running for shelter also.

  2. You are so right Hobbles – when you feel weak, it’s to give someone else a chance to give for a little while. Maybe they will give something different from what you might have given & it might be just the perfect thing. Remember, somewhere there is a master plan for everything and it all happens for a reason.

      • I’m struggling a bit right now. Psychiatrist is adjusting my meds which is playing havoc with panic attacks & sleeping. COPD is still about the same. Knee seems to get worse the more I have to walk & with all the doctor’s appointments finally arriving I have to walk more now. Still sad, so I’m taking a little break from blogging. Brutal truth, aren’t you glad you asked? But thanks for asking.

        • I am glad I asked. I’m sorry things are tough right now. Medication adjustments are always rough, but I hope things even out soon. Sorry about the walking too. Mobility is taken for granted by too many people. Losing it, even a little sucks.

          • And you know this more than anyone! How’s the foot? I pulled a bonehead move the day after you ran over your foot – I was trying to be helpful to hubby now he’s gone back to work, so I was unloading some washing he started before he left & slammed my index finger into the agitator. Now it’s bruised & sore but nowhere near as pretty as your foot!

            • Foot’s ok. Still broken, but I talked to an ortho dr. Yesterday, and they aren’t worried. I just have to wear a protective boot thing. Which I’m not wearing… Shoes suck! I am wearing the ankle stabilizer thing. If my foot can’t turn out, I can’t run it over right? Sorry about your finger. Fingers are a bad thing to hurt cause you use them so much.

Comments are closed.