Is anyone awake? Interactive bedtime story here

20140807-225626.jpg

I’m awake. My body hates me. My mind terrifies me. I’m alone and trapped inside this torture device.

I’ve been writing a book. Real book! It’s only like a page long, but I have to get permission to use a story before I can write more.

So, I’ll blog for a bit.

Once upon a time there was a house. It was an older abode, but it still functioned as a house, providing shelter from storms, and other things. Of course, due to it’s age and weathering, it did creak and groan and have some nails sticking out here and there

The owners absolutely loved the house. It had charm and character and all those lovely old home attributes. They restored as much as possible, and lovingly took care of each nook and cranny.

They had children and later grandchildren, all who were taught to respect and take care of the house. It really was a beautiful house.

Once upon a time there was another house. An old one, but it still functioned as a house providing shelter from storms of life among other things. Of course, due to its age it did have some creaking and groaning and some cracks here and there.

The owners used to love this house. It once held charm and excitement. They used to laugh about decisions they argue about now. They put their time, money, and energy into other things so they don’t have to think about the state of the house.

They had children and later grandchildren who were taught the house wasn’t very valuable. It could had been a beautiful house, but it was destroyed.

Now for the interactive part. I want you to put “marriage” in for the words referencing “house”

Which are you? Loving caretakers or ready to move? Can that change? Should it? How much tending are you doing to your marriage? Ignoring the cracks?

I’d like to think that most of us want a beautiful marriage to live in, but it might take a little focus on the parts showing signs of damage. Maybe some you are blind to what those areas are. I know I can be.

Listening helps. I’m not very good at that, but I’d like to think I’m creative and good at coming up with ideas. Maybe if I can work on my weaknesses and focus on my strengths. Maybe if my husband and I can both learn where each other sees cracks forming, and patch them together using our strengths, maybe we can restore the beauty that was once captivating. I want our kids to respect our marriage. It could be beautiful.

5 thoughts on “Is anyone awake? Interactive bedtime story here

Comments are closed.