Ten things I learned the hard way:

Last week I enjoyed some time in a mental institution. I know, I know, anyone who reads this blog could have told me I was crazy, but I guess I needed professional confirmation. Anyway, here’s a few lessons I’ve learned the hard way:

1. Don’t bring your weed when you turn yourself in to the police.

images

2. Wearing a “I want to die, ask me why” shirt to the loony bin won’t score you any sanity points.

20140912-095234.jpg

3. Being desperate for alone time can make even a trip to the psych ward calming.

20140912-095244.jpg

4. The ability to go outside when you want to is a luxury not to be taken for granted.

images (1)

5. Spending hours on end with a small group of like-minded individuals is wonderful for forming great friendships.

20140912-095150.jpg

6. Some non-profits have to use tarps and duct tape as a pillow (no wonder we all were nuts).

images (2)

7. Never underestimate how psychotic some people are.

20140912-095223.jpg

8. If you want to become an expert at card games, spend a few days with cards as your only entertainment.

images (3)

9. The outside is sometimes more frightening than the inside of a holding cell.

20140912-095252.jpg

10. Some of the best people in the world are just as broken as I am.

20140912-095137.jpg

To my friends in the mental ward, I will never forget you. Thank you for seeing the true me and liking me anyway.

7 thoughts on “Ten things I learned the hard way:

  1. I Love it, Hobbler!!! One of your best jobs yet. Made me smile. Kept me laughing. Mind if I “re-blog”?? Lemme know: I don’t like doing it without asking . . . 😀

  2. I am already liking you…. I work as a therapist serving people with mental illness. These people can sometimes be the best people to spend time with. 🙂

Comments are closed.