What to do when you realize you are an idiot:

In light of recent events, I am re-posting this as a reminder to myself.

First and most importantly; don’t panic. 98.875% of the world’s population will come to this realization at some point in their lives. If you don’t think it will happen to you, remember to come back here when it does.

Second, don’t try to explain your stupidity. There is nothing more revealing about a person’s ignorance than when they try to explain why they did something stupid.  Believe me, I have learned this the hard way. It is better to just admit that you did something dumb. At least whoever you admit that to will know that you are smart enough to know when you are stupid.

Next step: beating yourself up only makes you better if you are an egg. For those of us in the human population, just because you do something (or many things) that are not very smart; torturing yourself about those things only makes you more likely to do similar things since you are so focused on what you did wrong that you neglect the things you have a chance to do right.

To prevent against future stupidity episodes, lower expectations for those around you. If people already think you are not the brightest crayon in the box, they will be pleasantly surprised when you do things that are not dumb. Even normal behaviors will seem like accomplishments in their eyes, and the next time you do something dumb, they will think “at least she didn’t run into the garage this time”.

If none of the above steps work, you can always dye your hair blonde.  (Just kidding…silly joke…no need to take things personal…we all know that blonde jokes are prejudicial, and stuff…I would dye my hair blonde if I had the body to get away with it… 😉 ).

For more information see: Are Stupid People Smart Enough to Know They’re Stupid

18 thoughts on “What to do when you realize you are an idiot:

    • Yeah, me too. The reason I wrote this post is because I do so many completely stupid things. I typically have the worst reaction possible too. Trying to explain my stupidity and beating myself up over it are my biggest problems.

  1. Reminds me of the Seinfeld episode where George and Jerry were both claiming to be stupid and George says, “…for I am George, Lord of the idiots.” I am too braindead to remember what dumb things they had done for them to feel compelled to make these claims, however.

  2. On the plus side, this post made me really laugh out loud 😛 On the minus side, my office-mates now think I’m crazy @.@

    • Thanks! People try to explain my stupidity too, but I have way too often beaten them to the punch. My life would probably be a lot easier if I didn’t talk so much. 😉

    • Seriously? I just committed another stupid act tonight. Knowing I might have helped someone makes that stupidity a little more valuable. What’s going on?

Comments are closed.